What is Normal?

Ohayou!

It’s a beautiful Saturday morning here in Moriyama-ku. Drinking coffee, listening to music, looking out at the blue sky through open doors on this breezy September day. It’s mornings like this that I miss being able to chat and have morning coffee with my mummy. ๐Ÿ™‚ I can pretend. Got to chat with my puppy this morning-it always makes me sad but I am thankful I get to see him “in person” when we video chat. But anyway-I don’t want to be depressing!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
I did wear this necklace my mummy made me the other day as a tribute…:) She will know why! I love you!!!

IMG_0385

The past week has been calm-not much going on. Last weekend we finally got our internet going after a visit downtown to the apple store for wifi-it’s amazing! We tried a restaurant called Desperadoes! It’s mexican food and I have missed it! I think we are going tonight actually-again! I worked at school a bit on Saturday, which is just fine with me. It’s quiet and I am more awake and focused meaning I work much faster!

IMG_0406

I have really enjoyed this past week at school. The kids are finally settling into their routine-they are working better together which is so much better…kids who struggle to work cooperatively is tough. I think we are finally getting somewhere!

I have attended my 4th or 5th…I can’t keep track…yoga session with friends. One of our teachers leads it after work on Wednesday’s and I really like it. I look forward to it each week which is something for me. I also joined our choir (it’s 2 students and 3 teachers, although we had 2 more join yesterday). It’s just us sitting around a piano trying to harmonize… which, you know me, I can’t sing. But, I love to sing, and we are doing “ok”-I just can’t remember the pitch when we start over which is frustrating. I can read music thanks to band, but I have no idea what a note is supposed to sound like. I downloaded a piano app on my phone so I can practice singing at home. ๐Ÿ™‚

Next week I think our Japanese lessons start on Thursday after school. I am really excited to start these. I used Rosetta stone over the summer which has been helpful, but our account expired when Paul left Kennesaw and so I haven’t been doing much since we moved here. I have learned some very helpful expressions, and have even given advice (in broken Japanese) to people…but I want more. I won’t ever be fluent, but I want to be able to communicate more!

We found another restaurant this week that was amazing. Thai food outside on the sidewalk in Sakae. The food was amazing, and pretty cheap too. I had the best coconut soup I’ve ever had-and ย I am sure it will be even better in Thailand…whenever we get there!

We had spring rolls, red curry, coconut soup and pad thai, which they called “patthai”-other than the small shrimp things that looked like krill or something-it was delightful. All for about $30!

IMG_0440 IMG_0441 IMG_0442 IMG_0443

Last night a friend had a birthday party and half the staff was there ๐Ÿ™‚ It was really great to let loose-I think I drank almost a whole bottle of gin…oops. You know it was a good night when we were having a dance party in the living room at 2 am! Paul stayed home to catch up on sleep, which worked out because he was our taxi home. Thanks babe!

IMG_0455 IMG_0450 IMG_0447 IMG_0444

Tomorrow (Sunday) we are meeting our new friends (we went with us to Tokyo) for Chinese dinner at their hotel. They finally found an apartment and move in soon-and then we can get watching outlander! I have been holding out on episodes so we can watch together. And have tea and biscuits while we are at it.

Next week is my birthday-and my trip to Hong Kong! Paul will stay here-it’s just too expensive to fly him out I think…so we will go back or try another city in China some other time (Great Wall of China…got to see that!)

We wanted to try for another night of karaoke-so maybe Friday night before we leave on Saturday-pizza and karaoke!

That’s pretty much it-the honeymoon period is slowly leaving-but not in a bad way. I don’t feel so much like I am on vacation anymore-things are getting normal-and routine-and I LOVE adding new experiences to those routines-making new routines. My next new routine goal is to get a bike and ride to and/or from work. My neighbour does it and she says it’s a nice ride, about 30 minutes. Plus I would love to explore a bit further than I will if I walk!

For now!
Sayonara!
K + P

ps-Paul is settling into work as well-he follows his students to class-helping with classwork, homework, organizing, being comedic relief for the teachers, and even passing for a student (ask him, it’s a funny story). His SAT prep course is going well-he’s got a class of 21eager kids to not fail at life!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Basketball starts in November!

More Pictures of foods and things over the past two weeks

IMG_8718
Singing something I think…and dancing?

IMG_8662
Custard, banana, and choc chip crepe. Yum!

IMG_8232 IMG_8230 IMG_8225 IMG_8238
IMG_8671
Happy Birthday NIS!
IMG_8655 IMG_8220
IMG_8223
I
ย couldn’t eat the heads! This was so weird. bleh

Leave a Reply

